Georgia Tech


Highlights of Tech History 1987-1999


Table 2.3   Selected Events from Georgia Tech’s History – Continued
1987 The Georgia Tech/Emory University Biomedical Technology Research Center was established. The School of Engineering Science and Mechanics was incorporated into the School of Civil Engineering.
1988 Dr. John P. Crecine, Tech’s ninth president, proposed a restructuring of Tech to meet the technological needs of the 21st century.
1989 The proposal for academic restructuring won approval in a poll of both the academic faculty and the general faculty and received the unanimous support of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. The College of Computing and the Ivan Allen College of Management, Policy, and International Affairs were established.
1990 The Georgia Tech men’s basketball team won the ACC Championship and went to the NCAA Final Four. Atlanta’s “High-Tech Southern Hospitality” wide-screen presentation. developed by the Georgia Tech Multimedia Laboratory, helped the city attract the 1996 Olympic Games. Georgia Tech was selected as the the Olympic Village site. The Georgia Tech football team was named 1990 National Champions by the UPI Coaches Poll after winning the ACC Championship and the Citrus Bowl.
1991 Ground was broken for the Student Success Center. Tech’s first foreign campus, GT Lorraine, in France, was opened. The Fuller E. Callaway, Jr. Manufacturing Research Center was opened, setting the hallmark for corporate research cooperation with Tech.
1992 Tech hosted the only vice presidential candidates’ debate held in the election year ’92. The Yellow Jackets celebrated their 100th anniversary. Tech established the first University Center of Excellence for Photovoltaic Research and Education.
1993 Tech’s bioengineering program (in collaboration with the Emory University School of Medicine) won a $3 million grant from the Whitaker Foundation. Three Ivan Allen faculty earned National Endowment for the Humanities fellowships, the only fellowships of this kind awarded in Georgia.
1994 Dr. G. Wayne Clough, took office as Tech’s tenth president. Dr. Clough is Tech’s first president who is also an alumnus; B. S. in CE ’64, M.S. in CE ’65. The Packaging Research Center was established with a National Science Foundation grant. Construction of the Olympic Natatorium Complex began. George O’Leary was named as the new head football coach.
Dr. G. Wayne Clough was inaugurated as Tech’s tenth president. Construction of the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center was completed and recreation construction began on the Coliseum. Two Georgia Tech students were named Truman Scholars. Sponsored research awards hit an all-time high with $185 million. Private giving also reached an all-time high of $41 million.
Georgia Tech launched the largest fund-raising drive in the history of the university – a five year $400 million capital campaign. Georgia Tech served as the 1996 Olympic Village hosting more than 15,000 athletes and coaches, gaining seven new residence halls, a state-of-the-art Aquatics Center, a renovated Alexander Memorial Coliseum, a beautiful new plaza area and 1,700 miles of fiber-optic cable to connect every building on campus to voice, video and data reception capabilities. Mechanical Engineering Professor San Shelton led Georgia Tech’s team of mechanical engineers and industrial designers who developed the 1996 Olympic torch. The men’s basketball team was the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season champions for the first time.
The first class in history is required to own a personal computer. Georgia Tech’s young faculty received the highest number of CAREER Awards from the National Science Foundation. Tech researchers set a record year with $220 million in research expenditures. Retiring U.S. Senator Sam Nunn joined Tech’s Ivan Allen College as a distinguished faculty member public policy and international affairs and the School was renamed in his honor.
The DuPree College of Management was established. Tech was awarded three new National Centers of Excellence: a $12.5 million Engineering Research Center for the Engineering of Living Tissues; a $19.5 million microelectronics Focus Center Research Program; and a European Union Center.
1999 The first women deans of academic colleges were appointed—Dr. Sue V. Rosser, Dean of the Ivan Allen College and Dr. Terry C. Blum, Dean of the DuPree College of Management. Georgia Tech won the 1999 Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Faculty Development to Enhance Undergraduate Teaching and Learning. Georgia Tech switched from a quarter-based curriculum to a semester-based curriculum. Tech’s engineering program expanded to southeast Georgia with the Georgia Tech Regional Engineering Program (GTREP). Tech became the first university in the nation to offer a Master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering entirely via the Internet. Tech opened the $30 million Bioengineering and Bioscience Building, the first in the development of a four-building biocomplex..
Source: Communications and Marketing