Georgia Tech


Athletic Association – Tables 6.9, 6.10, 6.11


I’m a Ramblin’ Wreck from Georgia Tech and a helluva engineer, A helluva, helluva, helluva, helluva, hell of an engineer.
Those words from one of America’s most famous fight songs typify the spirit of athletics at Georgia Tech, a school with a tradition of integrity and success that is second to none. Ever since 1892, when the first football team was organized on The Flats, Georgia Tech teams in all sports have represented the Institute in outstanding fashion while producing some of the best-known names in athletics.
Georgia Tech participates in 17 varsity sports, and also includes the following departments: a Total Person program, compliance, business, development, ticketing, marketing, facilities, communications and sports medicine. The most important function of Georgia Tech athletics, however, is academic support.
The Georgia Tech Athletic Association is a non-profit organization responsible for maintaining the intercollegiate athletics program at Tech. The Athletic Association (GTAA) is overseen by the Georgia Tech Athletic Association Board, chaired by the president of the Institute and composed of the Executive Vice President of Administration and Finance, eight faculty members, three alumni members, and three student members.
Over the past 100 years, Tech has had only 12 head football coaches: John Heisman (namesake of the coveted Heisman Trophy), William Alexander, Bobby Dodd, Bud Carson, Bill Fulcher, Pepper Rodgers,  Bill Curry, Bobby Ross, Bill Lewis, George O’Leary, Chan Gailey and current coach Paul Johnson.
Tech has won four National Championships in football in the years 1917, 1928, 1952, and 1990. Other major highlights in sports have been two Final Four appearances by the Tech men’s basketball team in 1990 and 2004, nine NCAA Tournament appearances by women’s basketball and three College World Series berths in baseball.  The GT women’s tennis team captured the 2007 NCAA Championship, our first ever NCAA team championship.  In 2008, Amanda McDowell became the first Yellow Jacket tennis player to earn an individual national championship by winning the NCAA Singles title.  The Georgia Tech golf team is consistently among the top national finishers and has won 16 ACC titles and eight in the last 10 years.
Some of the most prominent names in Georgia Tech athletic history have been Grand Slam Champion Bobby Jones, former Masters champion Larry Mize, British Open champions David Duval and Stewart Cink, Tour Money Titleist Matt Kuchar in golf; a host of football starts including 18  College Football Hall of Famers and Tech also produced four Olympic gold medal winners in track: Antonio McKay, Derek Mills, Derrick Adkins and Angelo Taylor, as well as three-time NCAA high jump champion and 2004 U.S. Olympian Chaunte Howard in women’s track. Major League baseball stars include graduates Mark Teixeira, Nomar Garciaparra, Kevin Brown, Jason Varitek and Matt Weiters.  Georgia Tech’s men’s basketball has a rich history with star players that include Roger Kaiser, Rich Yunkus, Mark Price, John Salley, Kenny Anderson, Stephon Marbury, Matt Harpring, Jarrett Jack, Chris Bosh and Derrick Favors. 
Tech’s facilities rank among the finest in college athletics. Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field, one of America’s oldest and most recognized football venues, has undergone an expansion and renovation project that raised its capacity to 55,000. Tech boasts Russ Chandler Baseball Stadium, a consistant site of NCAA Regional and Super Regional play. The McCamish Pavilion, home to Georgia Tech’s men’s and women’s basketball teams, replaced the Alexander Memorial Coliseum beginning with the 2012-13 seasons. The Georgia Tech Aquatic Center will be the site of the 2016 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships.  The Aquatic Center also hosted the 2006 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships, and was originally home to the 1966 Olympic swimming and diving competition. In 2009, the softball team began playing in the Shirley Clements Mewborn Field, and the men’s and women’s basketball teams moved into a new state-of-the-art practice facility, the Zelnak Center. The Ken Byers Tennis Facility opened in January 2013.  The hub of Georgia Tech athletics is the Arthur Edge Intercollegiate Athletics Center, which houses administrative and coaching staffs, a dining hall, locker rooms, training and weight facilities and the Andrew Hearn Academic Center.
Georgia Tech teams participate in the Atlantic Coast Conference, generally regarded as one of the best collegiate conferences in the country. The primary purpose of the Athletic Association is to help each student-athlete grow as a person, develop as an athlete, earn a meaningful degree and become a productive citizen.
Table 6.9 Athletic Association Sponsored Groups 
GroupNumber of Participants
Sport Teams (17)392
Gold Rush15
Student Trainers15
Student Managers47

The Georgia Tech athletic program includes 17 intercollegiate athletic teams (nine men’s and eight women’s). During the 2014-15 school year, 392 student-athletes will compete in these sports:

Table 6.10 Intercollegiate Athletic Teams  
SportHead CoachNumber of Participants
BaseballDanny Hall34
BasketballBrian Gregory18
FootballPaul Johnson116
GolfBruce Heppler9
Swimming & DivingCourtney Hart29
TennisKenny Thorne9
Track & Cross CountryGrover Hinsdale47
BasketballMaChelle Joseph12
Track & Cross CountryAlan Drosky48
SoftballShelly Hoerner17
Swimming & DivingCourtney Hart31
TennisRodney Harmon9
VolleyballTonya Johnson13

Table 6.11 Georgia Tech Athletic Association
Board of Trustees
OFFICERSTerm Appointments
Chair: Dr. G.P. "Bud" Peterson, (President)
Vice Chair: Dr. Reginald "Reggie" DesRoches (FAR)
Secretary: Dr. Debby Turner
Treasurer: Mr. Steven G. Swant
Director of Athletics: Mr. Mike Bobinski
Dr. Reggie DesRoches’11-’14, ’14-’17
Ms. Seletha Butler’15-’18
Dr. Usha Nair-Reichert’12-’15, ’15-’18
Dr. Colin Potts’13-’16
Dr. Jud Ready’14-’17
Dr. George Riley’14-’17
Dr. John Tone’12-’15, ’15-’18
Dr. Debby Turner’11-’14, ’14-’17
Mr. Michael Anderson’10-’13, ’13-’16
Mr. Lawton “Mac” Nease, III’12-’15, ’15-’18
Ms. Fran Rogers’15-’18
Ms. Morgan Jackson, SAAB President
Ms. Jen Abrams, Undergraduate SGA President
Mr. Marc Canellas, Graduate SGA President
Mr. Mike Bobinski, Director of Athletics
Ms. Brenda Lin, Editor, Technique
Mr. Al Trujillo, Georgia Tech Foundation Liaison
Ms. Lynn Durham, Assistant Vice president/Chief of Staff
Mr. Joe Irwin, Georgia Tech Alumni Association Liaison
Mr. Pat McKenna, Vice President for Legal Affairs and Risk Management
Ms. Aisha Oliver-Staley, Director of Affiliate Organizations
Dr. John Stein, Vice President for Student life, Dean of Students

Source: Office of the Director, Athletic Association